Song of a Sparrow

images

“And the ransomed of the Lord shall return and come to Zion with singing; everlasting joy shall be upon their heads; they shall obtain gladness and joy, and sorrow and sighing shall flee away.”

(Isaiah 51:11 ESV)

I awoke this morning to yet another overcast day after a long night of restless and interrupted sleep.  Just past dawn, I found myself fortunate enough to hear the song of a sparrow which was perched just outside my window and as I sat there listening to his melody, I began to wrestle with darkening thoughts as I sensed utter emptiness deep inside for I have become so discouraged by the hatred and evil which exists in humanity.  I long for the safe and loving embrace and familiar company of my lost loved one and soon my uncontained grief begins to trickle and overflow.  There is so much I could say to you for so much has changed since we last spoke but I know without doubt you would not want to find me still grieving after almost a decade has come to pass, so I prevent your memory from further entering my presently sorrowful conscience for just this brief moment.

I ask myself how humanity can be so cruel and unkind.  The hatred we all have for one another and the total disregard for human life which should always be protected and tenderly held so sacred by all.  I painfully recall the slaughtered bloodshed which was washed away upon the shores of the sea by those who only seek to mutilate and destroy and I wonder if this may only be the beginning. My heart aches with agony knowing that evil and suffering, sickness and death, and this hatred for one other exists only because of the past and continued rebellion of mankind against his One and only Creator.  I only have myself to blame, for this was not God’s original design for us.

 We must never take our eyes off of the One who prophesied these types of events yet to come, the only One who came to reconcile our rebellion.  “And you will hear of wars and rumors of wars.  See that you are not alarmed, for this must take place, but the end is not yet.” (Mat 24:6 ESV) …”And because lawlessness will be increased, the love of many will grow cold.” (Mat 24:12 ESV)

I find myself thankfully distracted briefly from my brutal thoughts as I notice my singing sparrow, just outside the corner of my eye, as he flies off to find another more comfortable destination and with his quick and sudden departure he also takes with him his song.  Sitting there awhile in complete silence and solitude, I finally whisper my Savior’s name, the only One I find always beside me and resting there too just past dawn, and in an instant; my utter emptiness is replaced by His unconditional love and I realize yet once again in that moment I must never take my eyes off of Christ.

 Christ never promised us a life void of suffering, sickness, death, evil wickedness, or hatred for He warned us this would surely come.  What He does promise is eternal life, where our ephemeral earthly sorrow will be replaced with eternal heavenly joy.  As I continue to sit there I begin to think about life with an eternal perspective and with this renewed eternal perspective of thought….. I hear myself release an overwhelming sign of relief………

“I have told you these things, so that in me you may have peace.  In this world, you will have trouble.  But take heart! I have overcome the world.”

(John 16:33 NIV)

olivetree

“I think I see more of Christ than I ever saw; and yet I see but little of what may be seen.”    

—-Samuel Rutherford

Leave a Reply

